Philippine Scouts Heritage Society   Welcome, Guest. Please Login
  News:
Welcome to the Philippine Scouts Heritage Society Message Board. If you would like to register to be able to post to the message board please email us at webmaster@philippine-scouts.org and give us a username you would like to use. We have been experiencing a significant amount of spam registrations and this seems like the best solution to fix this. Thank you!
  HomeHelpSearchLogin  

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
CIB for wartime service in PS? (Read 5813 times)
MML
YaBB Newbies

CIB for wartime service in PS?
Aug 11th, 2010, 8:34am

Dear PSHS members,
I am trying to determine my father's eligibility for military awards for his service with the PS during WW2 and hope anyone can help.  By way of background, my father retired from the US Army in 1966 after 24 years of honorable service; as for myself, I am a USAF veteran.

Specifically, I am looking for any information regarding unit authorizations for the Combat Infantryman's Badge awarded to members of the PS, possibly specifically to the 57 INF.  One of the reasons for this request is to determine Dad's eligibility for the Bronze Star Medal; as an infantryman who was awarded the PH and <possibly> the CIB he would be eligible for the BSM per AR 800-6-22.  

Recently Dad and I requested copies of his service record from NPRC, and while my father served with the PS but there are scant references to PS combat service in his record.  There are passing references in his WD AGO Form 20, WD AGO Form 21 and DD Form 4 regarding guerrilla service as an infantryman with the PS from April 1942 to Feb 1946,  although no specific PS unit is indicated.  Dad is insistent that he is eligible for the CIB as he saw repeated combat engagements and was wounded in action while assigned to the PS.

Later service (in Aug 1946) shows assignment to D Co, 57 IN RGT, and (in Oct 1946) to HQ/HQ Co, 57 IN RGT.