Philippine Scouts Heritage Society   Welcome, Guest. Please Login
  News:
Welcome to the Philippine Scouts Heritage Society Message Board. If you would like to register to be able to post to the message board please email us at webmaster@philippine-scouts.org and give us a username you would like to use. We have been experiencing a significant amount of spam registrations and this seems like the best solution to fix this. Thank you!
  HomeHelpSearchLogin  

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Lt Edward Von Geldern, Jr (Read 9315 times)
ord510

AZ
Lt Edward Von Geldern, Jr
Mar 24th, 2007, 1:35pm

Lt Edward Von Geldern, Jr attended my "alma mater", Santa Clara University.  While he didn't complete his 4th year, enlisting in the US Army instead, I wanted to find out as much as I could.  He is the only known Santa Clara student I found that was on the Bataan Death March.  I have been studying this sad occasion in the US Army since high school, 1955.

Lt Von Geldern is mentioned in Hampton Sides, "Ghost Soldiers" where Captain Prince mentions he will be rescuing an old friend with the raid on Cabanatuan.  He and Lt Von Geldern served together before Pearl Harbor.  Then Lt Von Geldern went to the Philippines.  Some of you might have read it in the book.

There is no POW record on Lt Von Geldern, no census record, only that he attended Santa Clara as an engineering student who didn't finish his 4th year.  I found an Otto Von Geldern in San Francisco as an engineer, but no family.  Also, an Edward Von Geldern is living in Hawaii.  While there is some doubt whether he was in a Philippine Scout outfit, it is a starting point.  He was an Artillery officer, but unit is unknown.  Any Help!!

Tom McGeeney

Tom
  IP Logged
OlsenPC
YaBB Newbies

Re: Lt Edward Von Geldern, Jr
Reply #1 - Apr 8th, 2007, 2:35pm

Hi Tom:  I also am researching an Army Bataan Death March (deceased) relative, Lt. Col. Alexander G. Olsen, so I have some places to search that may help: