Philippine Scouts Heritage Society   Welcome, Guest. Please Login
  News:
Welcome to the Philippine Scouts Heritage Society Message Board. If you would like to register to be able to post to the message board please email us at webmaster@philippine-scouts.org and give us a username you would like to use. We have been experiencing a significant amount of spam registrations and this seems like the best solution to fix this. Thank you!
  HomeHelpSearchLogin  

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
bolos and bolo training (Read 16834 times)
grasso
YaBB Newbies

bolos and bolo training
Nov 10th, 2006, 7:56pm

members, my name is ralph grasso, i am a writer, researcher and guro in filipino martial arts[ arnis de mano and eskrima] . i have been looking for the following info fo years. 1] what type of bolo was used by the filipino scouts? 2] was it issued by the u.s.a. forces? 3] was it always the same bolo? shape3] malapads, matulis----can anyone describe the bolo training , the bolo drill , can anyone describe it? is it on tape anywhere? please help, i have been searching for a long time---thanks , ralph

IP Logged
ord510

AZ
Re: bolos and bolo training
Reply #1 - Nov 11th, 2006, 11:05am

Ralph,

There was a program, History channel I believe, that concerned the Liberation of the Philippines.  I forget the title but believe it was on the History Channel.   Anyone out there help me.

Duriing this program it shows a "bolo" issued by the US Army for use by Filipino soldiers being trained here in the US.  I believe it was the 1st and 2nd Regiments and it was 1942.  It was in California and in 1943 Gen Whitney came from Australia and took some of them back th Australia to be sent into the Philippines ahead of the invading forces.  They were coast watchers and such.

This Program showed the Bolo and the Filipino troops that were to use it.

Tom McGeeney

Tom
  IP Logged
victor
YaBB Administrator

PA
Reply #2 - Nov 12th, 2006, 11:49pm