Philippine Scouts Heritage Society   Welcome, Guest. Please Login
  News:
Welcome to the Philippine Scouts Heritage Society Message Board. If you would like to register to be able to post to the message board please email us at webmaster@philippine-scouts.org and give us a username you would like to use. We have been experiencing a significant amount of spam registrations and this seems like the best solution to fix this. Thank you!
  HomeHelpSearchLogin  

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Narciso Viray 1944, 26th Cavalry (PS) (Read 3487 times)
dinky00062
YaBB Newbies

Narciso Viray 1944, 26th Cavalry (PS)
Jun 11th, 2006, 11:31pm

Hello, I've been working on my family genalogy for the pass 2 years.  My Great Great Grandfather "Narciso Viray" was in the 26th Cavalry Regiment Philippine Scout. He served and went missing in 1944 in the Philippines.  My family doesn't know anything at all about him because he was a very private person. So Now I'm in search of any infomation about him.  He was awarded a Purple Heart Medal and a Sivler Star Medal. I would like to find any infomation of him for my father who carried his last name as his middle name is not in the best of health. I would like to provid him with any information or any photos of him.

« Last Edit: Mar 30th, 2007, 7:17pm by Editor-at-Large »  
  IP Logged
Editor-at-Large
YaBB Administrator

Ohio
Re: Narciso Viray 1944
Reply #1 - Jun 12th, 2006, 7:43am

A Pvt. (later TechSgt) Braulio Viray was also in the 26th Cavalry (PS).  Might he have been a relative of your great great grandfather?  Capt. Felipe Fernandez, a 26th Cavalry veteran, mentions him in responding to a query about Capt. Buboltz, 26th Cavalry.  

By the end of 1942 almost all Filipino soldiers had been paroled to their home provinces by the Japanese.  Many joined guerrilla groups upon their return.  Given the date your Great Great Grandfather went missing, this may be what he did.

Editor

Newsletter Editor
  IP Logged
Editor-at-Large
YaBB Administrator