Philippine Scouts Heritage Society   Welcome, Guest. Please Login
  News:
Welcome to the Philippine Scouts Heritage Society Message Board. If you would like to register to be able to post to the message board please email us at webmaster@philippine-scouts.org and give us a username you would like to use. We have been experiencing a significant amount of spam registrations and this seems like the best solution to fix this. Thank you!
  HomeHelpSearchLogin  

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Philippine Scout Uniforms (Read 14488 times)
Editor-at-Large
YaBB Administrator

Ohio
Philippine Scout Uniforms
May 27th, 2004, 11:18am

I have just visited your website which I found of great interest.

My name is Philip Jowett and I am a military historian and writer and at the moment I am preparing an illustrated guide to the Allied forces which resisted the Japanese offensive in the Pacific in 1941 - 42.

In the book are coloured plates of the uniforms worn by these forces and I would like to include a figure of a Philippines Scout. Could you possibly help me with information on the uniforms and equipment worn by the Scouts at this time?

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

Kind Regards
Philip Jowett
Philipjowett@aol.com

Newsletter Editor
  IP Logged
Editor-at-Large
YaBB Administrator

Ohio
Re: Philippine Scout Uniforms
Reply #1 - May 27th, 2004, 11:22am

Dan Dizon, a Filipino artist, has drawn some very fine colored images of Philippine Scouts in their uniforms.   I don't know what he will charge to allow one of his images to be published.  I believe he sells them to collectors for $35 apiece.  Here is his address:

Daniel Dizon
2 Badjao Road
Villa Gloria
Angeles City 2009
Philippines
danhdizon@yahoo.com

Photos of scouts in uniform are available through the American Historical Collection library, which can be contacted through the Resources page of our website.  I don't know if they have colored images of Scout uniforms.

Newsletter Editor